Command Performance Knitting

Scully mitts for Missy

Scully mitts for BFF

My BFF has been asking me forever to knit her an “Irish” sweater, one like she had back in college when she was just a “wee lass”. Or she would like a plain black pullover with maybe some cables in it. She’s probably not getting either one. It’s not that I don’t want to knit for her, she is, in fact, the recipient of most of my knitted gifts. I’ve made her mittens, fingerless mitts, socks, hats, scarves, shawls and, yes, even sweaters. The thing is I’m not so keen on being told what to do. I like the freedom of following my knitish muse wherever she may wander and, usually, that isn’t where the people in my life want me to go (knit-wise anyway).

Lacy leg-warmers for Missy

Lacy leg-warmers for BFF

Hubbs would also love a hand-knit sweater. I did make him one once which he never wore. In his defense, I have to admit the colors were hideous and the fit left a lot to be desired but, if he wanted another one, he really should have worn it, maybe around the house or something. I also made him an awesome pair of felted slippers which were subsequently blamed for a frightful tumble down a flight of stairs followed by a trip to the ER and a diagnoses of two broken ribs. Knitting for Hubbs seems like it might be a bore to me and a danger to him.

My sister once asked me to knit her a cute little drawstring bag with fish on it. It was pretty darn cute, I’ll admit, and I even bought the kit to make it, but, alas, the poor thing never made it to the cast-on stage. Although my sister has also been a  primary benefactor of my knitish obsession. I’ve made her a couple of sweaters, many socks, some scarves and countless felted slippers for her three kids but…..nothing that she ever asked for.

Christmas Cardi for MA

Christmas Cardi for Stepmom

I now knit primarily for myself. I had come to accept the fact that I’m just a selfish knitter, but then I realized,  I’m actually not that selfish. It’s just that I’m the only person I know who wants to own the things I want to knit. Everyone else, it seems, would like something I have no interest in knitting, at least not right now.

Someday I will probably want to make an “Irish” sweater but, by then, I’m sure my BFF will have moved on to something else that I have no interest in knitting. In the meantime, I will continue to knit  for my friends and family just not “by request”. They will have to suffer through with the knitted items I most wish to knit regardless of their personal preferences.

Grandmom is currently in line for a pair of crocheted slippers but I’m pretty sure she’d rather have a pair of mittens or a new scarf just now.

MAB's b-day bag

Comments

  1. Rebecca W. says:

    I love the mittens!

    I know exactly what you mean. I don’t knit, but I have that same contrarian streak: as soon as someone asks me to do something, I don’t want to do it.

    I have a friend who makes beautiful books. We’ve been telling her for years she could sell them but she says the same thing: doesn’t want to have to meet other peoples specifications or expectations.

  2. Love this post. 🙂 I am also a selfish knitter – is there any other kind, really?!? But, I have been known to take requests in a very limited sense. If I’m in the mood to knit someone a sweater, I will allow them input into color selection and some limited design options. In this way, they are obligated to love what I produce because they were part of the process.

  3. Like the skulls.

Leave a Reply

