Easy like Sunday morning

Sunday mornings and Friday nights, at my house, are times of great ease: pizza and a movie on Friday nights , the local flea market and brunch on Sunday mornings. Life is good at these times, predictable and worry free.

Most of the time I like my knitting to be a challenge. Not a huge, unconquerable challenge, mind you, but an opportunity to learn something new or perfect a skill.  I like my knitting to bend my mind a little bit and take me someplace I’ve never been (that’s a lot to ask from some string and sticks, I know). But lately I’ve felt the need for an easy knit. Something that could move along smoothly and provide a sense of accomplishment in a relatively short period of time. Something safe and predictable but still fun and if, in the end, the finished item should also garner a  lot of “Ooo’s and Ahhh’s”, so much the better.

With this in mind I turned to a recently acquired pile (10 skeins) of “Ariosa”  (Classic Elite yarns), purchased with a particular, chunky little gilet in mind. (Gilet: noun, sleeveless vest or sweater, from french meaning “waistcoat”).   Upon closer inspection of the pattern (and after said yarn was purchased, mind you) I noticed that the cables on this particular garment looked a bit odd. They caused a funky fit on the bottom half of most of the projects I could see clearly (via Ravelry FO’s).  I decided I wasn’t going that route again. I’ve done it a million times. Something looks awesome in a professional photo and then, after completion you realize the poor thing never had a chance. The original had clearly been manipulated within an inch of its life to look good in a photo and, really? If it takes that kind of manipulation on a professional model what chance have I got? No, not this time.

I released a huge sigh of disappointment, wallowed in a pool of yarn and frustration for a moment, considered returning the yarn all-together, cursed the designer’s name several times and then….

I followed Maggie Righetti’s advice and listened to my  yarn. I asked the beautiful Ariosa “what would you like to be?” (AKA swatching). Turns out this yarn looks absolutely divine in good ol stockinette stitch at about 3 stitches to the inch (which is, in fact, what is recommended on the ball band). It’s lofty and super soft and still gets good stitch definition. The cable pattern I was originally going for would have worked well if it hadn’t been only at the bottom of the garment where it sucked in all the drape.

I pondered. I trolled Ravelry. I slept on it a night or two. And then…

I found this :

This beautiful blanket of a cardigan is called Alluvium and was designed by Jennifer Dassau (the Knitting Vortex). Not only is this an easy knit, it’s an easy wear as well! It’s relatively quick to knit, and, since we’re already into the second week of March, that’s key, plus my gauge is spot on. This was love at first sight.

I am now about 2/3 of the way through this and, although I had a momentary freak-out when I thought I was going to run out of yarn, it’s going remarkably well . I’m having a hard time putting it down long enough to write this, in fact.  The pattern is pretty simple, the cabling is easy enough and, after the set-up, the whole thing is blissfully mindless and satisfying. The arms are created via the after-thought method which I rather like. It looks like a ton of straight-on stockinette but at this gauge it goes really quickly and the cables and ribbing keep you on your toes just enough. The yarn is delicious. I wasn’t sure about it at first but the ladies over at my LYS highly recommended it and they could not have been more right.

So that (along with the endless “Night and Day” scarf) is what I have on the needles this week. My trolling is now reserved for a new crochet project…..there is always trolling.

Leave a Reply

