Knitting: a love/hate relationship

It’s safe to say that there is no hate in my love of knitting itself. The final products, however, are a different story. I love them at first then, about half-way through, I begin to hate them. Even if I don’t encounter any issues with the knitting or the pattern or the yarn, there is always a moment (or a day) when I fall out of love with my projects. Most of the time I fall back in love with them shortly after I start hating them-I’m fickle that way, just be grateful you never dated me.

This time I’ve fallen out of love and there’s no going back. I finished “Blake” the other day. Completely finished. All that’s left to do is block, sew in a few ends and add some buttons (which I’ve already purchased, by the way). I won’t do those things though. I won’t do them because I truly hate this sweater.

There’s nothing wrong with it. The pattern was well written and easy enough to get through. The yarn was a delight (except for the random knot here and there). It’s just that this sweater is so not “me”. Image So why did I fall for it in the first place?

That’s an easy one to answer. I tried too hard. I think creating things has to come organically to a certain degree. At least it does for me. I find, I’m rarely satisfied with anything I try to hard to make work.

I’m not sure what’s to become of this yarn ultimately but, for now, it’s headed to the ball winder where it will be wound up into nice neat little balls of pretty yarn then stored away until the day inspiration strikes. Hopefully before I buy more yarn but probably not.

On a much brighter note, I’ve also been working on a new crocheted bag by Annette Petavy Design called “Italian travels” and so far I’m really loving it. I think I will do the construction a bit different than directed but I love this stitch pattern and her instructions for the handles are great.

Image

Comments

  1. I can totally relate! I hardly ever love my FO as much as I think I’m going to love it when I start knitting. And, I’ve hated the FOs so much that I’ve frogged several completed sweaters to salvage the yarn. But, it takes a lot of time before I’m willing to knit that yarn up into something else.

Trackbacks

  1. […] have now cast-on a new Sylvine, a size medium in the old purple “Princess” yarn (previously the ill-fated “Blake” cardi) that has been teasing me for the last two months. This is the second incarnation for this yarn […]

Leave a Reply

