More swatches?!

Um…yes, but really  it’s only one more. I wanted to get some cold hard evidence to back up my theory that twisting the purl stitches makes my knitting “neater”. I know it does, in fact, make it tighter because I’ve checked the gauge before but “neater”? I’m not really sure.

Image

ImageAll four swatches were knit on US size 6 Addi turbos in Classic Elite’s “Princess” yarn and both swatches were wet blocked.  The top two photos are the knit side and the bottom two swatches are the purl side. In both cases the swatches with the green pins are  knit in my usual (continental) fashion and the swatches with the orange pins are knit with the twisted purl stitches.

ImageImageI think the twisted purl stitching makes a difference but weather or not it’s enough to account for extra time spent remains to be seen. In a swatch I’m not sure it does but, I’m hoping, in a finished garment it will.

What do you think? Can you see a difference or am I obsessing?

Comments

  1. Honestly, I can’t tell a difference. But, if the fabric looks and feels better to you, then go for it! I love that you shared your experiment, because I was very curious to know the twisted stitches were working for you. 🙂

    • I’m not sure it’s enough of a difference to make it worth while. I’ll finish this sweater this way so I don’t mess up the gauge but I’m not sure I’ll do it again. Thanks for your opinion.

Leave a Reply

